Researchers receive honorary Doctor of Medicine degrees

January 13, 2016

"The research community at Johns Hopkins is proud that both Andy and Craig have received such honors," says Stephen Desiderio, M.D., Ph.D., director of the Johns Hopkins Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences. "Each has contributed significantly over the years to his respective field as well as to the scientific enterprise at Hopkins and this recognition of their work is much deserved."

Situated in the heart of Western Europe, the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven was founded in 1425 by Pope Martin V and is the oldest existing Catholic university in the world. Previous recipients of Leuven's honorary degree include Nobel Prize-winning scientists, religious pioneers and noteworthy politicians, including Louis Pasteur, Alexander Fleming, Christian de Duve, Charles De Gaulle, Winston Churchill and Dwight Eisenhower.

Previous honorary doctorates from the Karolinska have gone to South African peace activist Nelson Mandela; Microsoft founder and personal computer visionary Bill Gates; Michael J. Fox, actor, advocate and founder of a foundation for Parkinson's Research.

Source: Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions